Undercover Justice, Chapter 2

Carolyn McBride
7 min readDec 6, 2021

A tale of greed and hope

Chapter One

And now, the continuation with

Chapter Two

Hart was awake before the sun, and for a while was content to listen to the sounds of the town waking up. But it didn’t take long for her to get restless. After putting the lid back on the overnight bowl, and sliding it under the bed, she started looking for her clothes. It wouldn’t be right for someone to catch her in this nightshirt. A knock on the door made her flip the quilt back up in a hurry.

“Hart? Can I come in? I have your clothes.”

“Yeah.”

The door opened and Dr. Knight came into the room. She wore a dark green dress with a double row of buttons down the front and white lace around the sleeves. Her dark hair was up in a loose bun and when she spied Hart awake and alert, she smiled. The smile made the skin across her nose crinkle, and Hart had to swallow hard.

“How are you feeling this morning?”

“More like my old self, thanks.”

Lita set a bundle on the end of the bed. “Here are your clothes, as promised. Freshly scrubbed and aired.”

“Thank you. I haven’t had a chance to do more than rinse them when Bear and I cross a river.”

“Bear is your horse?”

Hart nodded. “I rescued him from a black bear when he was a foal. His mother wasn’t so lucky.”

Lita crossed the room and opened the curtains. “I’m glad you were able to save him then. Mind if I take a look at your leg?”

Hart flipped the corner of the quilt back and watched Lita’s long fingers as they took away the old bandage. She bent over Hart’s leg and frowned slightly.

“I’d like to keep you here for another day. Your leg isn’t healing as it should.”

“Can’t you just slap another poultice on me? I’d really rather get out of this bed.”

Lita shook her head as she turned to mix the ingredients for another poultice and a fresh bandage. “Your infection could turn worse quickly, and if that happens, you have a better chance being close by, rather than out on some trail somewhere. But I can offer a compromise.”

“What would that be?”

“I can fix you up so you can get out of here and into your own clothes. But, you agree to stay at least two more days.”

“Two? A minute ago you said one more!”

“That’s my offer, Hart,” Lita spoke quietly as she bent to apply the poultice. “Out of this room and in your own clothes if you stay for two more days.”

“And if I refuse?”

“Then I walk out of this room, taking your clothes with me, and you’re stuck here for another day. One way, you gain a little freedom, good food and some sunshine. The other way, you’re stuck in here with nothing to do.”

Hart sighed dramatically. “You drive a hard bargain, Doc.”

Lita finished tying off the strips of cloth over the bandage. “Emmett says I’m mule-headed. But in the end, he usually agrees with me,” She set her hands on her hips and gazed down at Hart. “So? What’ll it be?”

“You better hand me my clothes, ’cause I’m not going out there in a nightshirt.”

Lita grinned widely as she passed over the clothes. “Good! Your saddlebags are under the bed. No one has touched your belongings. Meet me downstairs when you’re ready and I’ll show you where you’ll rest up over the next couple of days.”

“Yes, ma’am.”

****

Lita turned at the creak on the stairs. Hart was just stepping onto the landing when their eyes met. She was dressed in dark pants and a linen shirt and buttoning a steel grey vest over that. On her head was a grey hat, flat-topped and low, and her saddlebags were looped over one arm.

“I think I’m as ready to get out of here as I’ll ever be.”

“Wonderful! Come out back with me.”

“Whatever you say.”

Once outside, Hart followed the doctor across a small yard, half of which was fenced in for a small flock of chickens, and a small section on the other side was a garden, long turned wild. Hart kept her thoughts to herself as they climbed three wooden steps and went into a small log home.

Lita closed the door behind them before turning. “Welcome to my home.”

Hart took her hat off as a sign of respect and looked around the one-room cabin. “It’s very tidy.”

Lita stepped further into the room and indicated a curtained-off area. “You can stow your saddlebags in there since that’s where you’ll be sleeping. Emmett will be joining us for breakfast soon. He’s out back seeing to the stock.” She tousled Cassius’ hair as he came from behind another curtain, rubbing his eyes. “Once you get the sleep out of your eyes, go and fetch the eggs please.”

Hart stowed her saddlebags and coat on the bed and rejoined Lita. “What can I do, Doc?”

“You should be sitting with that leg up. But perhaps you could cut some ham up so I can mix it with the eggs?”

By the time Emmett came in with a pitcher of milk from the cow, Cassius had come in with a basket of eggs.

“Oh! Good morning! I wasn’t aware we had company, I’m sorry. I’m Emmett, Lita’s brother,” Emmett set the pitcher down on the table and stuck his hand out.

“Hart. The Doc and I made a deal for my release.” She set the knife down and shook Emmett’s hand.

Lita explained to her brother, “Hart was going a little stir crazy in that room, so …” She was unsure what pronoun she should use and stumbled over an explanation.

“The Doc has told me I can stay here for a couple of days while my leg heals. I was getting bored up there.”

Emmett took down four glasses from a shelf, set them on the table and poured equal measures of milk. While they watched Cassius silently set the table, Hart spoke up again.

“I understand I have you to thank for taking care of my horse for me. It means a great deal. Thank you.”

“Oh, it’s my pleasure. He’s a fine animal,” Emmett waved off Hart’s gratitude. “He’s out back with the cow.”

“So this is your place?” Hart asked. “Doc said you were keeping him at your place…”

“The townspeople think Lita lives with me, and that makes her life a little easier in some ways I guess, but in truth, I live with her. I run the general store and provide a male presence to keep the busybodies around here happy.”

Lita set a cup of coffee in front of Hart and shot her a quick smile. “You can call me Lita too, you know.”

“If that’s what you’d prefer, ma’am.”

“So what do you do, Hart? Move cattle?” Emmett asked.

“I’ve done that, but not right now. I’ve come west following my heart.”

“Cass, breakfast is almost ready, would you go wash up, please?” Lita said as she set a cup of coffee in front of her brother.

“I don’t think I’ve heard him say a single word,” Hart said in an effort to get the focus off herself.

“You won’t either.” Lita shook her head sadly as she set plates of eggs, ham and biscuits in front of Emmett and Hart. “His mama was my best friend. She was crossing the street one day when he was just an infant in her arms. The stagecoach horses got spooked by something and they bolted. Ran she and Cassius down like they weren’t even there,” Lita’s voice dropped to a near-whisper. “She lived long enough to ask me to take him. He’s never spoken a word. I know he took a hoof to the head, but I’ll never know the extent of the damage done. It’s a wonder he lived at all.”

“I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to stir up old memories.” Hart felt a wave of regret.

“No harm done. Let’s eat.” Lita set a plate down for Cassius and another for herself, and they all turned their attention to their breakfast.

When the meal was done, Lita poured the three of them more coffee and gathered the dishes. “Let’s go sit out in the yard before we have to start the day.”

Following Emmett, Hart limped outside and lowered herself into a chair slowly, careful not to spill a drop of coffee. “It’s not often I’m treated to a meal of that caliber, thank you. And the coffee is good too. Far better than my own.”

Lita’s cheeks turned pink as she stepped back into the house, only to reemerge a minute later with a walking stick. “Here, stand up and try this on for size. Ever used one of these before?”

“What do I need a cane for?” Hart answered as she stood up.

Lita checked the height of it against Hart and nodded in satisfaction. “You can sit down now. Use it on the side that wasn’t bit. It’ll help take the weight off your infected leg. I thought perhaps I’d show you around town later.”

“Best avoid the bank, Lita,” Emmett said softly. “He’s in town you know.”

“I remember. Besides, unless I lock Hart away from sight, word’s bound to spread anyway. You know that.”

“Do you carry a gun, Hart?”

“A gun makes you a target, Emmett. I am no one’s target. Mind telling me who we’re avoiding?” Hart hid her unease in the sudden turn of conversation behind a sip of coffee.

“We’re trying to avoid Jasper Kennecot,” Lita replied. “He owns this town and everyone and everything in it. He doesn’t trust strangers and he’s been known to run them off if he doesn’t like the look of them. I’d rather he not do that to you.”

Hart felt the tingle of defiance race through her, but she squashed it before she said something that gave away who she truly was. Instead, she asked about Jasper Kennecot.

To Be Continued!

--

--

Carolyn McBride

I’m a self-sufficiency enthusiast, an author of novels & short stories, a reader, a gardener, lover of good chocolate, coffee & life in the woods.